The Aroha Adventures
The Aroha Adventures
Episode 40: Oceans of Time
0:00
-2:30

Episode 40: Oceans of Time

A short poem

As I was reading through old journals earlier in the year, I discovered this poem which I wrote during the year I spent in Thailand in 2017 and 2018. For most of that year I was living and working in a migrant community on the border of Thailand and Myanmar. Every now and then I would escape to one of the nearby islands, a short boat ride off the mainland, for some rest and rejuvenation. Wherever I am, the coastal waters, scenes and sounds never cease to inspire me, invoking inward reflection from outward beauty. I hope you enjoy listening or reading to this short poem.

Koh Phayam, Thailand

Oceans of Time

Breeze mingling in my hair
As the constant
Undulating blue
Whispers over the rocks
Perpetual energy
Graces the shores
For centuries
My gaze
Is but a speck
Of ocean time

Blue to grey
To black to blue
Mirror flat

To crisscrossing ripples
To raging waves
Of despair and anger
Hungrily devouring
Shorelines of sand
gray asphalt road in between green trees at daytime
Photo by Lance Asper on Unsplash
And through it all
The moon tugs and prods
Lifting and dropping
The waters
Without a care
For the ocean’s mood
Or human desires
And we are one

Moon,
Ocean,
I

I’ve just released this poem as an ebook and an A4 print, with beautiful illustrations by the talented Louise Woolcott. This has been a project on the go for many months, as Louise and I worked on this together based on opposite sides of the planet. I’m very excited to share them with you!

Oceans of Time Ebook and A4 print


Wishing you all a rejuvenating and restorative Christmas and holiday period.

Arohanui, lots of love,

Aleisha

0 Comments
The Aroha Adventures
The Aroha Adventures
Yoga, spirituality and meditation meets sustainability, nature and adventure.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Aleisha Keating